Caffeine Fit Or Fix

Posted: January 28, 2013 in Mission

IMG_1348[1]

I guess what is on my mind this morning is not whether coffee actually has a place in our approach to fitness, or, is it just a fix for what we think we need to get going? No, its broader than coffee, its specifically a question about caffeine and us.

I’ve heard some tout antioxidant properties of tea and coffee, our most common sources of caffeine. And then others counter that fruit and vegetables will do more for us in that regard so long as we eat them. To cut this typical tangent of the coffee argument short; there are a buttabazillion articles out there, like THIS ONE, that express health benefits of coffee, tea, etc… so as I write here right now, I don’t doubt that benefits are there.

Ok, then back to caffeine please. Caffeine affects us all a bit different. Similar to the notion where I can drink a shot of whiskey and notice little change in my abilities, but someone else, why they can no longer operate a pencil sharpener without grave concern for public safety. After knocking back a cup of caffeinated love, I will enjoy a pep in my step, but someone else, why they are instantly moved to the cliffs edge by an onslaught of anxiety laden jitter bugs.

Yep, I get that too. Cut that argument short too and understand that if I am going to consume caffeine then I should know my individual tolerance for it and not go over indulge.

So is caffeine really harmful to the human mind, body and soul just because it is caffeine? Or is it safe to consume as long as it is not used over-consumed to a point of addiction or toxicity??

Otherwise, I hope all had a wonderful weekend and realize that January is almost over already. Whoa, slow down father time, chill dude!

Hmm, I just had a deja-vu moment in that I feel I not only wrote a similar post before but did so very recently. Well, tell you what, had I had that moment when I started writing this post I’d have found a different topic for today. But since that moment came literally as I was telling father time to chill, this is post is going up with my sincere apologies for being redundant. 

Comments
  1. Roy Cohen says:

    Since there does not seem to be a huge anti caffeine lobby such as MAAD; Mothers against alert driving, I will give up my coffee when they pry it from my cold, sleeping hand.

  2. Dr. J says:

    I have a very small cup in the morning before I run. I don’t feel coffee is a problem if we don’t have more than a couple of cups a day.

    http://www.calorielab.com/news/dr-j

  3. Since nobody pulls a trigger on caffeine, it doesn’t seem a lobby would garner much money to justify its existence.

  4. Makes me wonder, has anyone ever filled their camelback with coffee to carry along on a run?

  5. Coffee does not bother me & I do think it is individual. The studies shoe it is fine in moderation & even has benefits in moderation but some can’t handle it & others put tons of crap in it. 😉 Me – not giving it up! 🙂

  6. Ann says:

    Moderation is key. Too much = bad. See recent energy drink overdoses by college students. I love my coffee. Not quitting either.

  7. Staying vigilant, Got it; you won’t catch me trying to steal your coffee.

  8. Energy drinks, now those I have never acquired a taste for. Well likely because they taste horrific. My opinion, but, someone try and tell me they taste good.

  9. Alan says:

    I grapple with this every once in a while. Coffee is one of the things I started consuming in greater quantities as I got bigger, so the correlation is troubling to me. But correlation is not causation, and so far I haven’t put my coffee down.

  10. Yum Yucky says:

    I’ve been trying to get my caffeine by drinking 3 cups of green tea daily instead of one cup of Joe. Green tea can deliver me more benefits than the Joe. BTW, I do caffeine to stay awake at night so I can blog. It’s the only reason I drink it. 8pm every night. (gulp-gulp)

  11. Carb Tripper says:

    I quit coffee and I pick it up again… I think I finally found a good brand with a good blend. Maybe it’s all in the way the do the beans… But I dooooo love it sooooo!

  12. Paul says:

    Sports nutrition is a science. Your everyday food intake, as well as supplements, should be planned properly in order to provide your body with sufficient resources. When choosing the appropriate supplement, health concerns and side effects should be considered first of all. I have chosen for myself the product which contains natural compounds, but at the same time has visible effect. This is Super Army Mega Endurance Formula. It was developed for military, in order to enhance their physical capacities, stress resistance and improve overall performance. This product is really good for me since it makes me more tough both physically and mentally.

Leave a Reply

