Man on a Mission

Posted: January 21, 2013 in Mission

20130121-021817.jpg
This weekend my son informed me he was done being obese himself. It had been a year since he worked out or ate healthy with purpose (apple doesn’t fall far from tree reference may be all too appropriate). But he has decided he has stuff he wants to do in life and can’t get it done weighing 270+… He is 19, I am so happy he has come to this self discovery now versus 39.

We went to the YMCA to get in a workout. He signed up to have one of their trainers call him and I’ll pay for one if he likes what he hears ( um, what should he ask, look for?)…

Now, I can’t have him running circles around me. So I better amp up my own commitment to getting in shape to do stuff I want to do but can’t!

Kids, they frustrate, challenge, make a mess, and bring us to tears. And along they way they inspire; guess I won’t trade him in for a motorcycle after all.

Comments
  1. Carb Tripper says:

    AWESOME – two men on a mission can’t be stopped! What a great inspiration!

  2. Roy Cohen says:

    https://www.youtube.com/user/Emergefit?feature=mhee

    Here are some very “garage” videos from my youtube channel. You and he may both find these useful. I will be increasing the production quality of these in the future, and adding commentary as well.

  3. Indeed, we will either succeed or look damn good trying!

  4. Excellent, thanks for sharing!

  5. Lori says:

    I have a feeling that you inspired him first. Hopefully, you will continue to inspire one another.
    Lori

  6. LOVE Patrick!! I am so glad he got to this decision himself. You two are going to be awesome!

  7. this is FANTASTIC!!!
    when talking with the trainer, make sure that the trainer asks your son what his goals are, rather than TELL your son what his goals should be. does that make sense? The trainer needs to keep your son’s goals in mind when designing a program.
    It will also help if the trainer asks about past (present) barriers to working out/being active (injuries, etc.).
    interested to find out how it goes!!!

    -gene-

  8. What a great chance for both of you to become closer while getting healthy 🙂

  9. Thanks fot the discussion points, texting over to my son now, thanks!

  10. Very glad for him too, now, he has to live up to it.

  11. inspiring, egging on, who me?

  12. maryfran says:

    That is probably one of the happiest posts you have ever written. I know you love your son no matter the size, but you have to be ecstatic to see him take pride and interest in his long term health!

    Love the challenge of trying to stay ‘ahead’ of him! Good luck!

  13. Yum Yucky says:

    Hooray and congrats to your awesome kid! I will soon demand you do a father-son relay race. I want video footage, too.

  14. Carrie says:

    Awesome! Kids are pretty amazing for so many reasons. I guess they never stop teaching us. Good luck to both of you… a little healthy competition (pun intended) isn’t a bad thing.

  15. Michele says:

    Terrific news for your son, especially when he is so young. Lets hope it sticks.

Leave a Reply

