Taunted Or Guilted

Posted: November 13, 2012 in Mission

Yo-yo dieters, any other yo-yo’s out there? My arm is raised!

Even after a surge of slow and steady progress I still feel I am still struggling to stay focused on doing what I must to do day in and day out. Just knowing what you must do and thinking about that before taking action isn’t always enough to make the right choice.

I’ve been at this since April of 2010, by now I would hope this would be 2nd-nature and that my mind would have stopped prompting me to consider cheesecake wrapped in bacon smothered in gravy with a side of cheetohs. But my mind still taunts me to waver from what it should do… Perhaps it always will.

The alternative; I could just give in. Well, wouldn’t that just give my mind something else to do? Instead of taunting me, it would make me feel guilty for giving in to it’s taunts; no?

So, I guess it is a choice of which mind-game I want to my mind to play on me. The game of taunting me to eat what I know I shouldn’t. Or the game of heaping guilt upon me for eating what I know I shouldn’t.

I am choosing to accept the fact that I will be taunted, perhaps forever, while hoping that in time my mind will get bored and find something else to do with me. What I do know, is that I am strong enough to survive this self-assault from my mind. I have to be – I have to be stronger than my temptation I taunt myself with.

Comments
  1. BE STRONG!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂 Honestly, after all these years, I would still love to eat sweets & pop tarts & lots of crap I did when I was heavy BUT I know this lifestyle is the best for me, I am happy with it, I can treat myself & know it is OK as long as I get back to it & I accept it is a life long thing…

  2. Roy Cohen says:

    Middle-aged fitness trainer here — hand up also Breakfast Saturday was a 5-pound bag of Halloween candy. That’s not a joke. The key is in winning more days than you lose. Win 4 days out of 5, and the war is yours – battle scars notwithstanding…

  3. Dr. J says:

    Just checking in! I’m afraid that you must retrain your brain, and if you are still eating high fat sugar of salty foods once in a while, which I have no idea if you are or not, you will keep reinforcing the old brain pathways that need to go bye-bye. Just my opinion, Patrick.

    http://calorielab.com/news/categories/dr-j-will-see-you-now/

  4. MizFit says:

    Im with ROY!!! it IS about just winning more than you lose….

  5. Amanda says:

    Are you kidding? I can walk the dog, do the sleeper and go around the world. It’s a constant struggle but we’re stronger than our taunts.

  6. Keep strong! Those taunts can be a real pain in the ass. My hope is that each day I turn them down that they have less of a hold over me!

  7. Carrie says:

    Love what Roy said – win 4 out of 5. And, I’ll add… never beat yourself about that 5th day. It’s not worth it. Keep strong, you’re doing great!!!

Leave a Reply

