Your True You

Posted: October 2, 2012 in Mission

“Spend time in thought about yourself, about what you want. Identify whatever it is that is your true passion. Then, identify the path of work you’d have to go down that gives you the greatest opportunity to attaining your passion.

If you can identify those two items; your passion and your path, then you will have done what billions of others before you have done.

Identify how bad you want it and whether you want it bad enough that you are willing to make getting it your true purpose.

If you can identify with that third item; your true passion is also your true purpose, then you will have done what several-thousands before you have done.

Know who you truly want to become, know how to become your true you,  know that your true purpose is you; then you’ve done the hard part.

If from truly knowing yourself you then go on and do the easy part; put your truest effort into your path, then you will have done what very-few have done before you.

You will become your true you!

The above is the essence of a conversation I had with my son last night. I had the luxury of time and keyboard to wordsmith what I actually said into a more concise and meaningful message here.

Currently, he has not identified any of the above, and is struggling in his first semester of college to make sense of what to do and why. It is my hope that he is moved to identify his true passion make it his true purpose and do so early in life. Something I certainly did not do at 19, or even 29, and honestly have not fully embraced to this day (a painful self-realization at 47).

Hopefully he, and all our kids will do so; become their true selves  so that they live happier, healthier, more meaningful lives than their parents have lived thus far.

Comments
  1. I did not know any of this way back when. All I knew is that I may have to support myself so I went that route which was nothing I wanted to do.. did not lead to a good place for me. If you can figure it out young – GO FOR IT!!!!

  2. You left out one thing: GET A HAIRCUT!

  3. Trying to help the young learn the value of getting hungry young; no guarantee they’ll listen, I didn’t

  4. Haircut? My son would reply,”what’s that”

  5. Yum Yucky says:

    Printing this one out. You should write a book. Not even kidding. You have a gift. I hope you realize that.

  6. Very kind of you 🙂

  7. Amanda says:

    Ah yes…If I only knew then what I know now… We would love to impart all that wisdom that can only come with age on to our children. Unfortunately, they must learn it on their own. *sigh*

  8. I have to remind myself when I was 18-19 I did not place much value in the wisdom my parents shared with me. I figured I knew enough to do just fine. The reality is most young adults do not value advice on the topic of self-help. In time, most grow to open up to advice; in time.

Leave a Reply

