Perfect, Um Maybe Not

Posted: September 27, 2012 in Mission

A recent conversation on good food versus bad led to a colleague sharing the 10 foods she tries to eat more than any other. She claims to have read about these 10-Perfect foods from a men’s magazine. The authors claim was that these perfect foods do more to engage our metabolism, burn fat, reduce cholesterol and blood sugar, and aid our immune system. Here they are…

Almonds, Avocado, Bell Peppers, Eggs, Garlic, Grapefruit, Greek Yogurt, Green Tea, Quinoa, Swiss Chard

Now that list of claims are mighty fine claims indeed. Who doesn’t want those to be true for themselves?

Well, it would seem that all we need to do is eat these 10 foods and we’ll achieve them. No?

Obviously the answer is maybe, maybe not.

We seek answers in the form of perfect lists, routines, and methods. Seek knowledge, yes, get smart! But results come from why you do what you learn. I didn’t write that sentence willy-nilly, the order of action is natural and dare I say perfect.

Until we know why we want to get healthy (or achieve any change in life) it doesn’t matter what lists, routines, and methods we learn and use to do so. Knowing why gives us purpose, without purpose we inevitably will not complete what we start. Without knowing your purpose, and truly believing in it, you will not stay the course.

Once you know why, then figure out how to. If you then decide this list of ten if your how-to, good for you, chances are you will succeed. Not because this perfect list is the perfect how-to tool for you. Nope, rather you will succeed because you know why you want to use it.

Oh, the picture above is a salmon fillet I smoked once upon a time. My tribute to my disbelief that there is no meat on this list, in particular fish. Viva La Oncorhynchus Gorbuscha !

Comments
  1. Great post Patrick! Those are all wonderful foods & they will definitely work to making a person healthier.. but as you wrote, there are list & lists like this. The key is to eat a variety of healthy foods & all the beautiful colors of the rainbow in those foods with complex carbs, healthy fats & healthy protein…. lots f way to do that & include those foods too! AND yes, all the other great things you wrote as well! 🙂

  2. I truly believe we are focusing on food fads way too much. It used to be that broccoli was the healthiest veggie ever, now it’s kale. As Michael Pollan (Omnivore’s Dilemma) said, “eat food, not too much, mostly plants”. I would add to that move a lot and I mean A LOT

  3. Amanda says:

    I believe you’re right. Purpose is everything. If you exercise JUST to lose weight, you won’t stick to it. You must yearn to be fit, healthy and not feel like gasping for breath after climbing stairs.

    It’s a good list…some of my favorites are on there but I admit I’ve never had quinoas before. I agree though…fish with their omega 3’s and leanness should’ve made the grade. 🙂

  4. I just mixed all those foods together and I don’t feel one bit healthier (in fact, I’m a lil nauseous…)

  5. If only we could eat rainbows, wonder what they taste like

  6. Moving allot, indeed key, and indeed something I need to do allot more of!

  7. Quinoa is an odd one for me. I have had it. It is bland and need flavoring or stuff mixed in to be worthy of eating in my book. Then i feel the same about white rice too.

  8. You probably mixed them in the wrong order, try again.

Leave a Reply

