My Visual Pyramid, Foundation Underway

Posted: September 24, 2012 in Mission
Tags:

Most days I believe I know why it is important for me to lose my excessively-excessive weight. Others, I choose to ignore the reasons, even though they are known to me.

I’ve learned many things about myself  in my 47+ years. One nugget is that I am a visual learner. As well I am a visual worker; I am my most productive at work, home or play when I can see what the situation is, can see the contribution needed of me, and can see progress being made. Yes, this is also why I prefer childrens books to novels; Suess me!

Time for me to wise up and leverage my visual strength in my mission to lose weight & get healthy. Above is what I have created for this purpose, it is my Visual Pyramid.

The concept is simple, to get to where I want to be (the pyramid top) I recently faced needing to lose 101 pounds (now 96 pounds). To get there, I have to build a better me; how I think & behave today will not (has not) allowed me to make real progress. Now that I can see what is before me, and I look for and refine what I need to do, for each pound of progress I will add a block to my Visual Pyramid.

Each block represents a reason for being better, for losing that pound, for getting healthier, for achieving this purpose.

Oh there are many many more than 101 reasons why I need to lose weight & get healthy, certainly I am happy I only need to build a pyramid of 101 blocks, and not 150, 200, or 102. Today I get to lay down the first 5 blocks Visual Pyramid and share their reasons…

Reason 101 – Family, they depend on me for many things; wisdom, guidance, support, and most of all love.

Reason 99 – Cathy, my wife. She is the love of my life and I desire to love her for may decades to come.

Reason 98 – The USA, I am a proud American. I’ve served this nation and always will through it’s think and thin times.

Reason 97 – Faith, that there is a greater purpose for the brief time we are given to live life.

Reason 96 – Knowledge, Tomorrow I embark on my Master’s Degree. I will hunger for knowledge to my last day.

 

There it is, the start of my Visual Pyramids foundation. I have many bricks to lay yet, but lay them I shall; I must!

 

 

Comments
  1. I LOVE THIS PATRICK!!!! I think this may work for others too!!! I may be sharing & linking back here! 🙂

  2. What a great idea. Good luck with classes!!!

  3. dawn says:

    I guess I’m one that is confused? Shouldn’t you be the #1 block at the top and then work your way down?

    So the blocks represent lbs? Well I have to say you aren’t your weight 🙂 you are a great, caring, smart (and the list goes on and on) man so I say knock off all blocks for weight and just work on the rest and then the lbs will happen 🙂 Yep, I’m on the “self acceptance” train these days 🙂 I say do good things for you and you’re family and good things will happen 🙂

  4. Amanda says:

    What a fantastic visual aid! I love this concept! I can’t wait to see the finished product (at which time I expect it to be printed, framed and hung in your house or office with pride!)

  5. Yum Yucky says:

    I’m all for laying a strong foundation. You can’t build on a half-ass, chincey foudation. Happy to see your Reason 97. Same for me over here.

  6. Yep, our foundation should include that which we look to for support and strength in times of weakness; I need to remember that as I lay down more bricks.

  7. Yes indeed; the least I can do is preserve this for all time when I reach my desired goal.

  8. I’m sure you could work your way up or down. Yes, the blocks themselves represent pounds lost, and the picture on the block represents a reason that holds meaning to me for why I must get healthy.

  9. Thanks, started last night, 1 homework assignment down and another quinzillion to go.

  10. […] My Visual Pyramid, Foundation Underway […]

  11. Wow! I’m impressed! I think the pyramid is a great idea. I also love your positive outlook! Staying positive and losing weight for the right reasons is the best way not only to lose weight but to keep it off after.

  12. […] Last week I introduced My Visual Pyramid HERE. […]

  13. […] I introduced My Visual Pyramid HERE. […]

  14. […] I introduced My Visual Pyramid HERE. […]

  15. […] I introduced My Visual Pyramid HERE. […]

Leave a Reply

