Try New Stuff, Or Not?

Posted: September 21, 2012 in Miscellaneous

Discussing diet tips-n-tricks with a few fellow weight loss warriors  at work recently. Nothing too deep, just casual chat to fill some time before a meeting about how to gut our competition. As is the norm with filler-chat at work the discussion took an odd turn. Someone decided to share their go-to food for getting through the day when temptation strikes.

Ready for this? Ok, here it is: Cottage cheese with chopped dill pickles (has to be dill, not sweet),  garlic-salt and black-pepper.

It was no shock that nobody at the table took out a pen to scribble that recipe down to share with the family that night. This sharing became contagious as another decided to share their go-to food for healthy hang-over relief.

Ready for this? Ok, here it is:  Turkey sausage links on a multi-grain bagel toast with orange marmalade and BBQ sauce.

Um, I’ve tried allot of hang-over remedies, that there would make me want to drink generously to wash it down; so perhaps it would work? the sharing continued, as another decided to share their go-to indulgence on their cheat-days, apparently her diet allows for a day of cheating.

Ready for this? Ok, here it is: Microwave buttered popcorn with a bag peanut m&ms tossed in then drizzled with nutella, shake the bag furiously and enjoy!

Wow, I couldn’t have thought up that combo no matter how drunk I got washing down the previous suggestion.

Not to be out done, I shared a combo that I used to eat as a kid. I couldn’t link it to being a go-to combo so I suppose I wasn’t conforming to the essence of the discussion.

Ready for this? Ok, here it is: Leftover Chinese food reheated in a skillet (this was per-microwave) and served over shredded wheat cereal (the big ones), but no milk!

It didn’t matter what the leftovers were, I wanted to add some crunch and bite back to them so my remedy was to put it on shredded wheat.

So there you go, some new combos for you to try this weekend. And by all means, please do share your fave & odd combos with the rest of us, who knows, we might just try them.

Bon-Appetit!

 

 

Comments
  1. Roy Cohen says:

    Hot coffee with a tablespoon of peanut butter stirrred in. Delish!

    Actually the leftover Chinese over the Shredded Wheat sounds good!

  2. Peanut butter coffee huh, definitely healthier than a few shots of half-n-half.

    My dad used to get angry when I made what I called “Chinese cereal”, he thought I was just being a smart ass. Never could convince him to try it.

  3. Amanda says:

    I gotta tell you…the popcorn sounds delish! The left over chinese and hang over remedy sounds gross. 🙂

  4. LOL, I guess I don’t appreciate nutella; but wow my daughter loves it

  5. Some of that sounds pretty calorie dense & fat dense! 🙂 Nutella – not my thing for sure! 😉

    I put hot/sweet mustard on everything!!!!! Well, on meat & veggies & in tuna & in my homemade guac – I love that stuff!!!!!

  6. Ann says:

    Ummm…. What in the name if all that us holy would possess you to put Chinese on shredded wheat? Oh my…… Yeah…. That’s a new one.

  7. MizFit says:

    oooh suddenly Im glad Ive not yet tried nutella.
    I MIGHTCOULD LOVE THAT 🙂

Leave a Reply

