Dinner In The Bag

Posted: September 17, 2012 in Mission

Dinner as they say, is in the bag.

Ok, I am not certain who says that, or, if anyone has ever said it.

Marinading is a wondrous technique  and one worthy of spending some time learning how to do properly. It is also a useful tool for those trying to lose weight. We often complain we don’t have time to prepare dinner, so the drive-thru or delivery option is where we end up.

Guilty, been there done that.

But not doing that anymore. Please, don’t you go and do it anymore either.

Find a few minutes on the weekend, or during the week; a few minutes is all it takes to get your meat trimmed and into a large ziploc bag filled with your favorite spices and marinading liquids. Place that bag-of-bliss in the refrigerator and it will be there waiting and ready for you come dinner time.

Tonight, that bag of goodness there will make its way to the grill and 8-10 minutes later we will dine on a lean feast of beast.

What do you have planned for dinner tonight? Tomorrow night??

Comments
  1. Great for planning Patrick – a crock pot is good too although I don’t have one! 😉 I have dinner made – a turkey meatloaf that is lasting me a few days! 🙂

  2. Ann says:

    Good job on the planning. I can do better with that. And umm….what the heck is that in the bag anyway?

  3. Tish says:

    I love marinades. One of the cuts I like to marinate is flank steak. I shop at Costco, so I get two in a package. I make double the marinade, fix one for that night’s dinner and pop the other in a freezer zip-lock bag and put it in the freezer. When I’m ready to fix it again, I just have to defrost the meat–it marinates as it’s defrosting.

  4. Turkey meatloaf, thats a dish that is great as leftovers too; good call.

  5. Venison tenderloin and chops, lots of tasty waiting to be had.

  6. Flank steak is an excellent choice for marinading. Obviously we can marinade any meat, but flank hold marinades as well as any cut so there are so many flavor approaches we can take with it.

  7. Enz says:

    Tonight is a stir fry made from leftover chicken and veg from last night. Intentional leftovers so I could throw dinner together quickly tonight. Monday’s are my most frazzled day!

  8. Leftovers always a good part of a smart plan, well; unless your leftovers are KFC and taco bell

  9. Don’t tease us!! What’s your favourite marinade??

  10. My favorite quick to make marinade is olive oil, soy sauce, black pepper. Almost everyone has those three items at all times and this combination adds a lot of flavor in a short amount of time to almost every meat. However that is a dark marinade and I usually do not like to use it for poultry, for birds I prefer another simple marinade; juice of a lemon and a lime, salt, pepper, fresh chopped garlic, cilantro and rosemary.

    Your favorite?

Leave a Reply

