How Many Keys Do I Need?

Posted: September 14, 2012 in Mission

How many times have you tried to lose weight / get healthy?

I have tried well over a dozen. Each time I tried, I made progress, then plateaued, then regressed back to where I started or worse.

Discouragement is a natural reaction to trying, and not succeeding. Even though with each attempt important learning occurs, the fact that the attempt did not result in the victory I sought is discouraging.

Regardless of the many failed attempts, there is no questioning that I must try yet again.

If I don’t, victory will not happen. If I do, victory will occur eventually. Maybe not via my current attempt, maybe not three attempts from now, but eventually it will happen.

Each attempt is akin to trying a different key on the lock before me. There is one key on the ring I possess that will open that lock. Even if it is the last key on the ring that opens the lock, I am going to keep attempting different keys until I unlock the healthy weight I need to become.

 

Comments
  1. Ann says:

    Good news my friend. Experts tell us that successful people who change behavior have tried many times before they get it right. Real actual scientific studies tell us that the more times you try to change the higher the success rate. So yes, we must keep trying.

  2. Amanda says:

    Well…it’s like the Thomas Edison saying, right? “”I have not failed 1,000 times. I have
    successfully discovered 1,000 ways to NOT make a light bulb.” Guess that could apply to us as well. 🙂

  3. Cindy says:

    Well I think it is even a little more complicated than that. Cause the key that worked in my front door in the winter may not work in the summer when the situation has changed. It is good to have a few keys and retry some that failed in the past.
    Actually I really am talking about that damn front door. I am thinking about getting a coded keypad.

  4. Never give up Patrick! You just need to find the right key that works for you!!!

  5. Love this post Patrick. I will never give up. I must be running out of keys by now though, I have tried and failed too many times to remember. Still, I won’t give up. Keep at it my friend.

  6. Big Clyde says:

    I think we all know that the key is eat less, eat better, move more and drink water. The challenge is can our brains (willpower) overcome our body (comfort)?

  7. Great question, the answer has to be YES

Leave a Reply

