Dare To Control

Posted: August 31, 2012 in Mission

20120830-221205.jpg
I crave certain food, much of it low-quality food. Foods like an Italian beef sandwich dipped and topped, like Chicago style deep dish meat laden pizza, like everything at KFC. When I feed my cravings, my cravings grow in frequency and volume. When I answer my cravings call with high-quality food, my cravings grow distant and meek.

My cravings are fueled by my trigger foods. These foods, I know them well, and it’s a blessing that I do. For I know what food to shove aside. The more often I shove them aside, the less I want them.

And dare I dream that in time my cravings will assimilate to my stubborn determination and begin to call on me to eat high-quality food?

I believe I can dare to be in control!

What are your trigger foods?

Comments
  1. Enz says:

    I dont so much crave a certain food but if I start eating sugar or processed carbs – it becomes a free for all with no off switch. Sugar begets sugar! For me, one cookie is too many and the whole packet isn’t enough.

  2. Excellent point, sugar begets sugar. Crap begets crap!

  3. Krissy says:

    Cookies! I can never eat just one. I don’t keep them in the house anymore, and only bake them when I have a function to bring them to. I do notice that when I don’t eat them I crave less other sweets. It’s a win win.

  4. Amanda says:

    Wow…I don’t think I can even identify what is in that picture. For me, it’s pasta and sweets. I have one and I immediately want more.

  5. All junk is a trigger food for me. I think it’s important to recognize our kryptonite. Know your enemies. Have a great Friday.

  6. I really have to stay away from sugar! It causes a binge eating that I really don’t want. Working in a donut/coffee shop really isn’t that hard I just don’t eat any of it because even a small donut hole will create cravings for everything in the store 😦

  7. Mmm cookies, I love simple shortbreads

  8. The picture is my sons dinner last night… On a bun, smoked sausage, bacon, fried eggs, blue cheese dressing

  9. Exactly, know & respect your enemy

  10. I’ve come to realize I have a sugar addiction, it enables me to eat crap of all forms

  11. Ann says:

    Oh boy. Dare I even conjure these thoughts? Oreos. Ice cream. Pizza. Pasta. Fries. Cake. Brownies. Taco bell. Cheese enchiladas with thick cheesy sauce. Hot peanut butter cookies right out of the oven. Coca cola!!! Biggest addiction. Coca cola.

    I don’t know whether to thank you or punch you in the nose right now. The food news is as much as I like those things, I don’t really WANT them. Progress?

  12. Ann says:

    Haha”food news”. Pun not Intended. Damn you auto correct. GOOD NEWS!

  13. Yum Yucky says:

    First I was trigger happy with pizza. Then it was cake. Then it was pizza AND cake. Boy, those were terrible days. I’ve conqured both now, but do love to be voluntarily greedy with some pie every once in awhile.

    “…oh look! There’s pie in the fridge!” (seriously. there’s pie in my fridge)

  14. YOU CAN BE IN CONTROL!!!! Honestly Patrick, I still crave some of my trigger foods that I eat rarely now.. crackers & certain sweets – my cookies as you know all about. 🙂 With time, I learned to be the one in control & also know that I can eat a little of something & be fine.. the key is to not keep eating it OR for some, they just stay way from trigger foods. Me, I don’t bring crackers in the house. I even stopped bringing in the healthy Kashi higher protein cereals cause I liked them to much!

    It is hard work but with time you can do it!!! Trust me! 🙂

  15. Pizza flavored cake, think about it

  16. Covering my nose… Yes, progress!

  17. Laina says:

    Anything I tell myself I can’t have! Like a child, I will want it! So I choose not to buy anything I consider “off limits” and buy tons of my favorite healthy food… The choice becomes easy, when I don’t set myself up to fail. For me it’s not about willpower… I refuse to hand over control to a food that does not give me the future life I want.

    It’s MYPOWER 🙂
    Laina aka @bluigirlusa

  18. You are indeed powerful!

Leave a Reply

