Super Foods Or Super Me

Posted: August 29, 2012 in Miscellaneous

20120829-064636.jpg
Always curious and always learning I did some research on super foods. I was looking for a list of such foods, figuring that wouldn’t be hard as its a common topic amongst nutrition minded writers. Silly me…

I found dozens of lists. Some with 5 items, some with 100+. Some ranked, some alphabetical, some sorted by food color. Some had close similarities, some had items I believe are only indigenous on Mars.

Confused, that is the one word conclusion I have that summarizes my research. Uncertain, as to whether there really is such a thing as a super food. Sure, that I can shake off this disappointing attempt at knowledge and make healthy choices sans the list I desired.

Even though I’m not armed with such a list I have confidence in, I’m confident that my success is not dependent on a list, or a book, or a system I don’t already possess.

My success is dependent upon me embracing a purpose that is superior than my prior purpose of obesity. My success is dependent upon my taking action to make superior choices than my prior acts of obesity.

I am superior than my obesity; I Am Super!

Comments
  1. There are so many lists & super foods Patrick! YOU ARE SUPER for knowing that you do this without a list.. just eat whole & real foods a majority of the time with lots of those important colors od green, orange, red, purple & more.. the lists helped you identify & you can go from there! 🙂

  2. Amanda says:

    Yes you are! Sometimes I find research to be detrimental…something labeled a “super food” one day will be labeled a “silent killer” the next. You’re spot on. Ultimately, it comes down to you. My general sentiment is that stuff found in nature is SUPER…processed crap isn’t. I think if we stick to that frame of mind, we’ll be OK. 🙂

  3. Krissy says:

    Awesome! I always just shoot for at least 5 servings of fruits and veggies a day, making sure I get at least 3 different colors. I figure I’ll get my antioxidants that way.

  4. You know what you’re doing! Eat fresh as much as possible and you’ll be doing great!

  5. Dr. J says:

    Patrick!

    Please forgive this, and I will never tell you again. I noticed that you said you ate KFC last (?) week. In my opinion, until you never eat foods like that, you will never lose the weight you want to lose.

  6. Keep it whole, keep it real!

  7. Processed crap is indeed just that; crap!

  8. Colors, many colors; a good rule!

  9. Fresh, I can do fresh!

  10. Your direct advice is always welcome. The KFC moment was bad, dumb. You’re right, I can’t make KFC choices and make progress.

Leave a Reply

