Scale Back, Look Ahead

Posted: July 24, 2012 in Mission
Tags:

20120723-152719.jpg
Good news, I lost 2.8 pounds last week.
Sad news, I’ve lost that same pounds a dozen times over passed decade.

On Monday morning my scale read 301.4, which is a far cry from my where I got it down to in 2010 when I was on fire and the weight was melting off. The first half of 2011 I maintained and then relapsed in the second half. An attempt to refire the engines at 2012 start only sputtered and I spent most of the first half of this year wishing I’d just get going again.

This past month I’ve come back to blogging, tweeting and thinking rather than wishing. I’ve managed to get the attitude dialed in with the help of many of you and your fine comments, blog posts and tweets. Now I’ve got the scale turning downward again.

When I look back I get frustrated quick, mad even. There are so very many bad decisions made which I can point to as reason for why I’ve yet to achieve my ultimate goal. Oh so many!

I’ve come to realize, and I have to continuously remind myself, dwelling on the past to the point of frustration is an equal barrier to what I want. Looking back is not always productive, and with weight loss seldom is. When I do look back, I can only do so long enough to learn from what has worked and why what hasn’t didn’t, and then look ahead.

Ahead of me is where my ultimate goal resides.

Ahead is where I must look to for what I can do to achieve my ultimate goal.

Ahead is where I am headed.

Please, I mean PLEASE, join me!

I was taking pictures all over the place yesterday; here are my eats from Monday…

20120723-190536.jpg
Breakfast: 1whole egg & 2 egg whites, fried w/out oil

Snack: Venison snack stick (not pictured)

20120723-190616.jpg
Lunch: Tuna fish (canned) under stewed tomatoes & chilies, topped w/ slivered almonds

20120723-191035.jpg
Snack: Yogurt

Snack: Almonds (not pictured)

20120723-191310.jpg
Dinner: grilled chicken thigh w/ skin, quinoa w/ strawberries

Water: 104 ounces

Comments
  1. Patrick – you are not alone in this so you are right, it is best to look forward & only use the past to know what did & did not work for you. Don’t redo the things that did NOT work for you! Keep trying, never give up, know you are worth it!

  2. Never going to give up, can’t afford to do that, not going to do it 🙂

  3. Michele says:

    I am glad to see you are back. Thanks for stopping by my blog again, too. The thing that I have found is that this getting healthy thing is for life. I seesawed for years before I finally got real and started doing what I am doing. You can do this, Patrick. You can. You are worth your efforts, too. It is hard, but, the only choice you have in my book. Stay strong.

  4. Indeed doing what is hard is the only choice

  5. Tish says:

    You can do this, Patrick. I, too had a terrible 2011. Kept going to WW, but only lost 8 of 52 weeks, gaining just over 30 pounds from Jan 1 through Dec 15. Finally saw the light (actually a terribly unflattering (read, realistic) picture) and got serious. I’ve lost those 30 and a few more in the first seven months of this year. I’m a slow loser (old metabolism!) but I’m betting you’re going to drop that 2011 weight soon and reach your goal. Me too. I’m going all the way this time and staying there. For GOOD.

  6. Excellent attitude! I’m a believer you will lose that weight

  7. Yum Yucky says:

    the chicken looks really tasty. All steam ahead!!

  8. Steady as she goes. Right? Keep at it!

  9. And.. I Gotta Do It

  10. Chicken was too tasty, the kids ate it all before I could even think about a second piece for myself; well maybe thats a good thing.

  11. Steady trumps Stupid, I need to choose Steady!

Leave a Reply

