Gnawing On Goals

Posted: July 3, 2012 in Mission

This is your lucky day because this post is NOT about how to set goals. There are a zillion-and-four web pages dedicated to how to set goals, your browser can take you to any one or all of them.

Instead, I want to share what I’ve been gnawing on about goals.

Gnawing… isn’t that a cool word? Gnawing, say it… Gnawing; I love it. If I were to have any more kids his/her middle name would be Gnawing.

Sorry about that detour, back on the road now; instead I want to emphasize why it is important we take the time to practice goal setting.

If you are reading this or other weight-loss / health-quest blogs then chances are you already accept the notion that goal setting is necessary for success.

Pick any method of goal setting you desire, doesn’t matter which one, just pick one. With your attitude dialed up to the ‘committed’ setting, just start practicing setting a challenging goal and working at achieving it.

Along the way, and certainly once the goal has been achieved, gnaw on it and give yourself feedback. Reflect on how your chosen goal setting method and your application of it has worked for you.

Make any adjustments, small (e.g. time of day you affirm yourself to your goal) or large (e.g. pick an entirely new method because your chosen method doesn’t fit you) and keep practicing.

Practicing makes perfect, we’ve all heard that. Mrs. Carmona drilled that into my head in 2d grade when I struggled mightily with subtraction. I just couldn’t understand why anyone would want less of something. Now that I want less of me to haul around, I finally get it.

No matter how long it takes to gnaw on and refine goal setting into a method that works for you, keep practicing.  You’ll get there.

Gnawing (just had to say it one more time)

Comments
  1. I like the way you wrote this – like exercise – find what works for you! 🙂 I sometimes change them many times along the way as life & I change – I think that is fine & we just keep moving forward! 🙂

  2. Come on, you have to admit gnawing is a cool word; no?

  3. Seeing how you have thought all this through, I hope and wish you that you are seeing real results.

  4. Results are slow but they are coming. I am Ok with slow, maybe slow is what I need for this change to be forever. Patience, got to keep reminding myself of the value of that word.

  5. Patience? What is that? 🙂
    One of these days I’ll learn to be patient… maybe.

  6. yes…gnawing is an awesome word!

  7. love gnawing. like gnu.
    goals a great to have, they help keep me focused when i sense that i am drifting around. for me, the old “begin with the end in mind” routine (S.Covey) works great.
    And remember, practice doesn’t make perfect. Practice makes PERMANENT……
    🙂

  8. Practice makes PERMANENT…… Great validation to keep practicing!

  9. Miz says:

    off to practice. cardio. which I hate 🙂

  10. Has to be a way to make cardio fun. But what’s fun for one is a chore fir others. So maybe not.

Leave a Reply

