Yawn, Mounds of Options

Posted: July 1, 2012 in Mission

Do we eat more when we are wrestling boredom?

Well lets see. Whenever we find ourselves wondering what to do, we’re bored. When bored, we want to instantly leap into something gratifying. Food is usually a quick path to a sense of gratification. Hungry or not, if bored, we are snacking!

Sound like a pattern of behavior you have exhibited? I certainly have!

As my attitude towards improving my health improves, so does my discipline to find alternatives to boredom snacking. Healthy alternatives are all around us. Here is just a handful of the mounds of options we can alleviate boredom with…

Walk… no matter how short, how slow.

Organize something… your desk, a drawer, the glove box in your car (let me know if you find actual gloves in there).  Get the hands busy and the mind will follow.

Clean that body… take a shower, bath, or both. It’ll replace the edginess of boredom with a calming of relaxation which in turn will invigorate you to get busy doing something.

Play… solitaire, board games, video games. Games engage the mind and an engaged mind blocks boredom.

And the list could go on for pages and pages…

 

We cannot evade boredom altogether. It will strike from time to time. When it does, we are going to do something about it. The only question is, what will we do?

 

pic credit: http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcRL0YTFpPnuYBWWJv63ja8MtPx_dvhpqp2XJZKMhEDg0MFk_YZlFA

Comments
  1. OMG am I ever a boredom eater!!!!

  2. OH YES, this is a HUGE issue for over-eaters & just people in general! I have my own list of ways to get around this & sometimes it takes a lot more “willpower” than other times but the key to me is to get it right 99% of the time or maybe a little less but I try my best! I always think about how far I have come & how I don’t want to go back at those really hard times! Does not matter if it is a couple pounds or way more – they are all hard to lose & very easy to gain back! 😉

  3. LaniePainie says:

    There has been a lot of discussion of “boredom” here in recent weeks. I’m working to unravel it all . . . and to define boredom itself. One theory is that boredom is a symptom of some underlying emptiness that we don’t yet know how to express. Sitting in solitude and and being curious about what you are really feeling and why may lead to some self-discovery. Recognizing the underlying feelings and dealing with them instead of drowning them with food.

    Our therapy session is over. Your co-pay is $25

  4. I never remember to eat when I am busy, especially when I am out of the house and doing a physical activity. Hmm, maybe I need to move out. 😉

  5. I do this all the time, especially late in the evening. Boo. Oddly, I can avoid it if I decide that X is my last food for the day. Otherwise, it’s boredom eating galore.

    Glad you’re back at it, Patrick.

  6. Miz says:

    mindful eating? 🙂 let me know if I can help at all.

  7. So am I, we just have to look in the mirror and admit it

  8. You suggest we use food to cope with a state of mind(s) that are not healthy.

    Hmmm, trying to find my piggy bank

  9. I certainly reflect this notion; the busier I am the healthier I am in general

  10. Glad to be back! Let’s just not do anymore fast food shall we?

  11. I definitely need to learn how to adopt and practice mindful eating, this behaving other than mindful is mindless and going to kill me

  12. Ryan says:

    Great post! I agree with the point you made about how eating is one of the first things we think of when we’re bored. One thing I’ve found to be extremely helpful and useful as a supplement to my current diet/exercise plan is Fullbar. Not only do their products help you lose weight, they also help you maintain your weight loss.

Leave a Reply

