Ever Tried A Carrot?

Posted: June 25, 2012 in Mission

Certainly we can agree that a change from the status quo is needed to bring about a lasting result. We can agree on that, correct?

Change comes in many forms, and that’s good. A change that works for you, may not work as well for me. Or more likely to be the case, while the change may work just as well for me, I may not like that change as readily as you have come to like it. For example, if you want to lose weight going vegan, cool. I bet if I went vegan I would see results, but I would be miserable.

My point, is not to debate different types of changes we can adopt. But rather, to remind myself and anyone else needing a reminder, that change cannot be casual.

Change cannot be occasional.

Change cannot be uncommitted to.

Yes, try a carrot, our metaphor for change. We must try one. Or more, which we believe will make a difference. But after we’ve tasted it, taken it for a test drive; well then it is decision time!

Either we decide to now eat that carrot (adopt the change by committing to it fully), or, we put the carrot down and walk away (search for a different change that fits us better).

Regardless what change(s) we make, we must commit to it, or we will not get well.

Image Credit: http://www.glasbergen.com/wp-content/gallery/vegetarian-cartoons/veg-05.gif

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Here, here! I like meat too much to give it up entirely and that’s my CHOICE and that’s fine and dandy. Weight loss, like anything else, is not a one-size-fits-all prospect. If it were, someone would be making millions off of it by now. We all must find what works for us and go with it. The trouble we get into is when we’ve find what works for us and abandon it for no good reason at all. 🙂

  2. Quite the head scratcher; why we abandon what works for us for no reason at all. One might argue than that the change is not for us. I might counter that with the notion that in time we may need to modify a change, or, adopt a new change to maintain progress. But abandoning changes made or change opportunities yet to be tried for the old habits which brought us to our unhealthy selves, makes now sense. Yet we don’t always do what makes sense, starting to sound like a twilight zone episode plot.

  3. So glad to see you back to posting such thoughtful posts. Change is hard. Nothing is ever one size fits all. So important to recognize.

  4. Tish says:

    Funny. I like carrots off and on. Sometimes I can chomp through an entire bag of baby carrots, other times, not so much. I think part of success is to keep trying different “carrots” to see which are good fits. Sometimes, something that doesn’t work for me once will be just my cup of tea (to mix metaphors) later on. The cumulative effect of all those carrots will help get me where I want to be. My “carrot of the month” is smaller potions. That’s working for me now and many of my former “featured carrots” have hung around too, to good effect.

  5. Hi Carrie, nice to be back amongst the blogging 🙂

  6. Ah, a carrot of the month approach; something to ponder. I’m sure our appetite for a frequency of change is as different from person to person as is our taste for certain changes.

  7. Dawn says:

    Good to see you posting again, I’ve missed ya 🙂 Well I’ve come to realize that I need support at the top of the list. I need the accountability of knowing I have others looking up and at me. I think the other big thing I’ve never wavered on is moving my body more. I think having lived a sedentary life that was the one habit I had to have faithfully if I was going to make my weight loss last. Though the food struggles continue I never let them continue to long. I know the less proccessed foods the better too. Just so many things that all have to work together, it’s that “balance” word we hear and read all the time, we have to find our own individual balance.

  8. Hi Dawn – good to see you! Balance is one of those concepts that is easy to visualize but difficult to realize.

  9. Yum Yucky says:

    Amen, brother! And I’m most certainly committed. Yet I feel it’s time to evaluate other areas of my life where change has not yet stuck like glue. thanks for this! xo

  10. For me a healthy weight is the hardest area of my life to achieve real commitment. For some it would seem this area is fairly easy to commit to; certainly I envy those that do.

  11. YUP!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Commit to it & keep it consistent! 🙂

  12. LaniePainie says:

    One philosophy is it add carrots (and squash,and beans, and grains) so there isn’t as much space for the choices that aren’t as positive. You tend not to miss them as much if you (1) aren’t forbidding them and (2) don’t have room.

  13. Good trick there to not make room for the unhealthy stuff on your plate

Leave a Reply

