Desire Is Not Want

Posted: March 9, 2012 in Mission

Desire: to want something very strongly

I doubt there is anyone reading here that would not say that they desire to be healthy.

Yet, so many of us are not healthy and too many of us that are not healthy are also not doing nearly enough to get healthy.

Therefore, we are not honest in stating that we desire to be healthy.

If we want something very strongly, then we will do something very strong to get it.

Otherwise we may still want it, but not to a degree where we can say we honesty desire it.

 

Comments
  1. I have to disagree with you here, maybe because I refuse to believe that my brother in law did not want to live and that is why he lost his battle with diabetes. I have no answers as to why sometimes we are not able to overcome obstacles on our way. I just know that we need to keep on trying without putting too much blame on ourselves. I also know that the journey is easier with others’ support.
    Just keep at it, one meal at a time.

  2. Dawn says:

    It’s hard to comment after Ewa’s comment but I know from several people in my family that they don’t/didn’t really realize diabetes can actually kill them, that medication isn’t a fix all. I think “healthy” has to be a full deal meaning we need to do the work physically and mentally, just doing one or the other isn’t going to get us to where we want to be and keep us there. I too agree with Ewa that support definitely helps to make it easier. I think it also helps keep us accountable which I think is one of the bigger obstacles some have because it is so easy to lie to ourselves.

  3. I often think to myself that I “want” it but in the moment do I want it more than the food that is on my mind:(

  4. I hear Ewa but if a person knows the facts & cares enough to know the facts, then it comes down to how much you want it & how important your health is to you. You have to want it bad enough to do it. You have to care enough about your own health & yes, how your health effects others around you especially if you have children & they learn from what happens in the house… but ultimately it is the person & they have to want it more than they want the food that is making them sick or unhealthy.

    Patrick, I hope you can figure this out for yourself & we are all hoping you can!

Leave a Reply

