It Says Hello, Then Goodbye, Why?

Posted: February 27, 2012 in Miscellaneous

Good Morning Everyone

The second month of 2012 has come and is all but gone and has been a blur. The new year arrived and said Hello and I said Hello back.

We embraced each other and got busy doing the right things to get healthier. January was good, not great, but definitely good.

February came, and while I cannot trace the change in attitude & motivation to the flipping of the calendar page; it is easiest to say that February has been nearly the opposite of January.

We wake up on a random day and we are so motivated, we have the attitude in place to succeed, and onward we go into the days, weeks and sometimes longer carrying a torch so of desire that we believe will never again be snuffed.

Then after a period progress and with a body that is better than it was not too long ago, on another seemingly random day we awake and that fire is out. We still have the torch in hand, we look at it and know we only need to relight it and move onward again. But we don’t, instead we so easily choose to set it down for a while!

Why is it we so easily put on hold that which we know is important? How come motivation and attitude can seemingly evaporate during a nights sleep?

Even though we know full well we are not well and need to continue working to get well, we choose to stop for days, weeks and sometimes longer doing what is right?

I’m not sure there is an answer to that question, but it would seem if that answer can be found, then I would never again set down the torch which I sit here and stare at this morning.

Comments
  1. ewa says:

    Glad to see you back!!!
    Paths to the top are never straight. They curve, they go up and down. Light that torch and keep on going, Patrick. And if you need a push, we are here for you.

  2. Patrick – HI! So I have a couple posts this week about this don’t give up stuff & tomorrow is one from a lady I have been emailing with that might hit home.

    Listen, there are ups & downs & bumps thru this lifelong journey. Just PLEASE don NOT give up! You and your health & your family or worth it!

  3. Lori says:

    When you find the answer to that question, please let all of us know! I don’t know why those feelings can be so capricious, just coming & going for no reason at all.

    At least you have an awareness of what is going on and want to work on it. That is the vital first step.
    Lori

  4. Carla says:

    I have missed your posts Patrick!!! I hope you are back to regular posting. I find the blogging helps.

    Sometimes we underestimate the pull of those addictive foods. Some days it feels stronger than we are.

    I have started to look at it like going to work. Some days we don’t feel like doing it but we have to do it anyway.

  5. Tammy says:

    I wish I knew the answer too. My progress for the first two months isn’t what I would have liked, but I hope to relight my own torch and make March a better month.

    Good to hear from you Patrick!

  6. Amanda says:

    No one ever said it was going to be easy and if I knew why I made all the right choices one day and all the wrong choices another day, I’d be a heck of a lot thinner by now. The point is we DO relight the torch and we DO move on from it and try again.

  7. Chris H says:

    My February has sucked too.
    Hope March is better.

Leave a Reply

