UhHuh TV Sux

Posted: January 29, 2012 in Miscellaneous
Tags:

20120129-195847.jpg

Right now this (above) is what is on tv here, a reality show about mob wives.

Wait no, that was so 27 seconds ago, this is what’s on now (below)…

20120129-200233.jpg

A show about housewives in Atlanta.

Then there is the show about people auctioning storage junk, and another about the family with 19, or is it 20 kids? And at least a half dozen others so-called reality shows.

This crap is constantly on our television. CONSTANTLY!

It is mind numbing and quite sad. Yet it entertains millions! What the attraction is I have no idea, NONE!

Guess I’ll go back to my book; Why We Get Fat, by Gary Taubes.

What are you watching, or, reading?

Comments
  1. Right now I am here. I know many like to escape to those Housewives shows but I can’t stand them. I saw something on that mob wives one on The Soup – I love that show! We record stuff we like & watch it at other times. Yes, some reality stuff but that type. We like Amazing Race. My hubby like Survivor but I don’t. Idol if the singers are decent when they start the final process – stuff like that but we record fun stuff too that we just enjoy that is not reality… finding the time to watch togeter is the tough part! πŸ˜‰

  2. Carla says:

    I agree Patrick! Those shows are all a bunch of garbage.

    I just finished reading The Help and I’m not quite sure what to read next. My boss wants me to read a tax textbook but I don’t think so!!!

  3. It is unbelievable how much junk is on TV. I’m watching Criminal Minds right now though. I don’t know why I like crime shows! About to hang it up and go lay down and listen to an audiobook. The housewives shows are craaaaaaaaaazy!

  4. anne h says:

    Some crazy stuff on tv…. none of it is gonna change anyone’s life for the better…
    I used to walk in place when I would watch Law and Order…there are bout 15 minutes of commercials during each hour-long segment!
    That’s alot! I could walk a mile during the breaks!

  5. Yep, my wife and I don’t have the same tv taste more often than not

  6. Tax book? Oh my may as well watch mob wives

  7. The thing with crime shows today is they are all too similar

  8. What if all our tv time were converted to exercise?

  9. Karen Ogle says:

    My husband and I have been watching the old Twin Peaks series. We bought the set and love the soap opera, surreal setting of the show. I don’t watch reality shows. I just can’t get into them. I would rather watch something that is completely fantasy and makes no pretense of being real. I have enough reality in my own life to find it entertaining.

  10. Miz says:

    I know thats why Im reading more these days too and MORE NONFICTION!

  11. Julie says:

    True! Which is why I like them. I’m starting to always predict the outcome. Makes me feel smarter? πŸ™‚

  12. Good call on twin peaks, I hear it is muy bien

  13. Non fiction is hard to find on tv these days

  14. Well, you’ve found one reason to watch I suppose

  15. suzanne says:

    We turned off the tv tonight instead we’re listening to the radio πŸ™‚

  16. Nice move, my wife might try it, just try it though

  17. I am quite behind with commenting and will be so probably for another couple of weeks. I did want to chime in on the TV thing. I managed to persuade my family to ditch our TV. That was probably 3 years ago, or was it 4? Anyway, I thought we would last for maybe two months or so. Guess what, we do not miss it at all. OK, not true. There are some PBS shows I liked and there is Survivorman.
    Now of course there are other time killers like facebook… πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

