Overkill Is Underrated

Posted: January 28, 2012 in Mission
Tags:

Is adhering to a strict diet to ensure progress overkill? If it is, then some cheating here and there should be acceptable; no?

Is scheduling exercise and not missing a session to ensure progress overkill? If it is, then skipping a session here and there should be acceptable; no?

Is insisting on executing both a strict diet and scheduled exercise to ensure progress overkill? If it is, then doing one and not both should be acceptable; no?

Why so many questions? Because these are the questions that go through my head at times, especially during times of slow progress.

And this is what I will ponder this day as I review my own plan.

Comments
  1. Everyone has their own motivation. For me, I have to be a bit obsessive about it so I would say being strict on eating and exercise isn’t overkill for me. I find that when I allow myself my deviations, I quickly fall apart. But…that…is….me.

  2. robby says:

    I think the perfect plan is something that is manageable every day of your life–not something that requires a break or cheat, or that you feel guilty setting aside when life demands it.

    Overkill might yield results but it breeds resentment. If exercise isnt punishment and food is not a reward, then the plan isnt something you are forced into, but willingly take up as a choice on how to steer your life.

  3. To each their own! I know people that feel they can’t go off their food plan or they will go backward & others will be crazy if they don’t allow in a treat day or something. I never do a full day of eating crap but allow a treat both weekend days BUT it has to be what is right for the person. I know people love that eat anything I want for one whole day thing but to me, that is overkill… again, to each their own.

    As for exercise, you can over train so that is something you have to feel for you & learn as well….

  4. Hmmm, Overkill might yield results but it breeds resentment. That’s a sentence to read, grab and remember.

  5. Karen Ogle says:

    Lots to think about here, Patrick. Strict is what has worked for me in the past but now I seem to be rebelling against the restrictions. Maybe time to change my plan to suit my new challenges.

  6. DB says:

    On a low calorie diet I think you just need to find what works for you. When I was on them I found that if I ‘cheated’ the psychological trauma was too great and it could so easily lead to a binge. But that was me, and Im an all or nothing kind of guy.

  7. I think about this, sort of, myself. Some theorize that the reason I binge is that I have too strict a “diet.” And that I’d be better off to allow “cheats” now and then. Hmmm.

  8. Carla says:

    I think cheating is silly. You wouldn’t quit smoking and then have a cigarette from time to time would you? Well that’s how I am with sweets. It is like a drug to me and I’m better off without it. Anyway I’m being strict until I lose all my weight and then I’ll see. I don’t know if I should add back any of the foods that made me overweight in the first place!

  9. Julie says:

    I think each of us needs to decide for ourselves what is and is not overkill. We each need to find what works for us. One thing that is not overkill is being completely honest with ourselves. You (collective as in you, me everyone) know the difference between a planned and in control treat vs an all out out of control binge, right? I don’t think there’s anything wrong with choosing to be strict. For me, I need to track everything. I’m SO thankful for the age of computers..much much easier than the old fashioned calorie counter book!

  10. I honestly think what you experience, most of us experience. I may not have written that post well, my intent was to suggest going for overkill is not a bad thing.

    It does cause me to wonder often why the human body, human mind, this is so easily taken off task for something that is completely useless to our survival, happiness, being just absolutely fantastic. For example, video games, eating until we explode, laying around all day long, etc.

  11. Adapting to what will work is certainly the way to go. The challenge for us sometimes, certainly for me, just to find what to actually adapt to to see progress begin to take off once again. Good luck in your search for the right adaptation.

  12. I’ve yet to read where cheating was not in fact a spark towards a been more total collapse of one’s diet. Sure, we all cheat from time to time and perhaps we feel that we’re getting back on track afterwards, but if honest with ourselves I bet we can say that it won’t be long until the next cheat occurs. Thus, failure is often the result soon to be had when we cheat.

  13. Larry North, he promoted a diet program in the 1990s. I used it used it successfully for a period of time, isn’t the way that is with most diet plans it only works for a period of time. But his plan built in a cheat meal every so often, I want to say once a week or maybe twice a week. I recall thinking that was a great thing to do and I certainly did take advantage of the cheat although I probably did cheat a little bit more than Larry’s advice suggested we do. And I think that in part was a big flaw in his plan because we are humans, and when we are allowed to cheat, or in essence be allowed into the candy store without having to pay for what we take, we will tend to take a lot more than what anyone wants or expects us to take. Even ourselves.

  14. Your cigarette analogy speaks volumes, absolutely accents the purpose of this post.

  15. Can we even imagine today not doing this with the electronic gizmos and gadgets that we enjoy? For example, most of my posts and comments come from the word press iPhone app. This has made blogging and commenting for me so much easier and so much more fun/relaxing.

    The thought of using a calorie book, a paper logbook, oh my gosh to actually sharpen the pencil and erase bad entries, this day and age it is completely unnnnn- imaginable that we would use such archaic tools. 🙂

  16. Amanda says:

    I’m just not one of those people who can say “I’m never going to have a piece of cake again” or “I’m never having ice cream again.” For me, consistency is more important than perfection. Don’t let perfect get in the way of very good.

Leave a Reply

