No Penguin Squeezing

Posted: January 20, 2012 in Mission
Tags:
2012 – January 20
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 291.5
Difference -10.9
Pounds to Goal 92.5

Enough talking about my aches and pains, I’m starting to sound like a basket case and that’s hardly where I am at.

LOL, friend told me today that William Shatner’s character on the Priceline.com commercials, what is he, The Negotiator? Anyhow they are actually going to kill that character in a upcomming commercial. Huh, seen many a character killed off in a TV series, but in a commercial?

What does William Shatner have to do with weight loss or healthy living? Nothing.

The King Penguin is the second largest species of penguin, weighing up to 35lbs. The Emperor penguins are the largest. They eat small fish – mainly lanternfish, and squid and repeatedly dive to more than 100 metres to find lunch.

What does the King Penguin have to do with weight loss or healthy living? Nothing.

Some days you just need to relax your grip on what it is you are working with to maintain sanity and clarity of focus on what you want to achieve. While we can apply ourselves to achieve anything we want, we e cannot force success to happen sooner or in grander scale by being overly focused or committed.

Embrace your plan, but don’t squeeze it too hard, and enjoy the ride no matter what.

Comments
  1. Amanda says:

    Yes! This is what I’m trying to do at this point in the game. Obsessiveness is not necessarily a good thing. Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Chrystal says:

    You crack me up. I love random trivia. Have a great day!

  3. Julie says:

    You are SO right!! I love the way you put this. LOL I’ve sort of been thinking along the same lines this week. (though penguins and william shatner didn’t come to mind..:) This is a “life”style change..and therefore, there’s this thing called “life” that must be lived along this journey. In order to do so, there’s got to be balance. I think I may just have to snag your bolded quote to refer back to. Have a great weekend!

  4. Obsess less for success

  5. Likewise, enjoy your Friday

  6. No rosemary & thyme though, one herb at a time

  7. Tammy says:

    Loved the post title! Great thoughts this morning Patrick.

  8. Deb says:

    Fun post. 🙂 I was waiting for an analogy to weight loss, but you are so right. Life is so much more.

  9. suzanne says:

    Exactly my motto the last few weeks!! Are you reading my mind?? 🙂

  10. OH NO, kill off Captain Kirk! 😉 He is funny on those though! Hey, I like random stuff now & then – yes, keeps us sane! 🙂

  11. ann says:

    I was wondering why you would squeeze a penguin. BTW…. The human head weighs 8 pounds.

  12. Carla says:

    So wise Patrick. We have to enjoy the ride not just the destination!!! I can’t wait for the day where healthy eating is just so natural to me that I don’t have to think about it.

  13. Insulince says:

    Emperor penguins….I have seen one in Antarctica. Do I win brownie points. Also I fairly sure they dive deeper than 100m……just saying.

  14. Roy Cohen says:

    In the end, nobody will be judged by the shape of their abs, or the size of their jeans. Live, love, and laugh… Perpective. Love it!

  15. Caron says:

    Agree. It’s easy to get too focused on this never ending journey. I do find that being fairly strict through the week allows me to loosen up a bit on the weekend and still maintain. Have a great weekend. 🙂

  16. Nobody can resist a post re penguins

  17. Penguins looks like they could stand to lose a few pounds, but then they have to endure -75f days, so I guess not necessary

  18. I do have a crystal ball, but do not admit to using it

  19. So easy to go insane these days, sanity takes more effort

  20. 8 pounds! Well that’s 8 pounds I hope I never lose

  21. That day is going to be a fine day when it arrives

  22. Brownie points and red velvet cup cakes points for you sir!

  23. Perspective is indeed a state of mind we must maintain

  24. Enjoy your weekend too!

  25. ewa says:

    I am going to be very mean now by agreeing with you that William Shatner has nothing to do with weight loss and healthy living. 😉

  26. Yeah, Adonis he is not

Leave a Reply

