Feeling Gooder n Gooder

Posted: January 14, 2012 in Mission
Tags:
2012 – January 14
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 292.7
Difference -9.7
Pounds to Goal 93.7

Gout feels much better today. thanks to those who replied with suggestions for tackling that nuisance disease.

Seeing the scale go down was an even better feeling, I didn’t expect that after my high carb eating yesterday. Yet I was under albeit near my calorie target for the day so I probably shouldn’t be surprised.

Great work out this morning at the YMCA. Did push exercises with weights on chest, shoulders & triceps. Question for those of you that are experienced weight trainers, is combining those three body parts into a days exercises wise and if so is the order I worked them also wise?

Comments
  1. Great job Patrick!!! Well, chest, shoulders & triceps work all the same areas in the sense that when you do chest, it also works the muscles you use for shoulders & triceps. The pushing, depending on weight, for the chest & shoulders could fatigue your triceps & the chest could fatigue your shoulders.. etc. etc. 🙂 It really depends on your goals, how much time each week you have & how many days for training… & such. If you want to push heavier weights, you may want to do push/pull like back & chest….. more a standard weight lifter thing.

    I do a very different workout just because of my goals, my experience at it & how long I have been doing it & also, what I want to accomplish for my body. For example, back is easy for me & grows fast so at this point in my lifting, I don’t need it grow it any more so I tend to do it last when I left because I don’t care if I am fatigued & do lighter there.. BUT my biceps which are a hard body part for me, I usually do first. Once I got some months under my belt & had the basics down, I started to modify my routine to what worked for me whether it fit the rules or not! 🙂

    How did it feel when you were doing it. Did one body part that you want to work hard seem to fatigued due to the other lifting? That might tell you that you want to switch things up.

  2. I don’t think that any particular combination is either good or bad. Clearly, most of the upper body exercises do workout some of the same muscles at the same time, i.e. biceps get in the mix on all sorts of exercises.

    I think it only really matters if you are doing strength training on a daily basis. If that is the case, it is easy to divide upper body from lower body on alternating days including core in all workouts. You stand little chance of over-working any given muscle group.

    Way to hit the weights Patrick!

  3. The Low Fat Chick says:

    Fantastic! Keep up the good work.

  4. ewa says:

    Glad to hear your gout is giving you less trouble.
    Do remember that as you build your muscles the scale may not show the results you are hoping for. Those muscles are darn heavy. 🙂 How your clothes fit might be a better measure of your progress.

Leave a Reply

