Your Snow, My Tomato!

Posted: January 13, 2012 in Mission
Tags:
2012 – January 13
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 293.4
Difference -9.0
Pounds to Goal 94.4

Yesterdays snow fall made the commute home a real mess, not unusual for snow to do that. My wife and I carpooled yesterday, we usually do so 2-3 days a week. After I picked her up we decided to get off the road, which wasn’t moving very fast and was a mess with cars bouncing off each other. We ducked into a favorite eatery of ours, J. Alexander’s, a fine place for steak and seafood. We’ve held a few family and business gatherings there when we wanted a nicer dining experience.

Of course eating out meant the challenges of eating out. My goal was simply to make better choices than I would normally when I eat here.

We started with an appetizer to nibble on while we chatted. None of there apps really lend well to healthy choices. But seeing ho we weren’t in a hurry to get through a meal to jump back on the roads with all the amateurs, we went with something we liked and had at least some healthy ingredients in it even though that dang thing was fried… Southwest Springroll

For dinner I would usually get the prime rib here. But instead went with a salad. Now just because it is a salad we all know that doesn’t mean it is immediately healthy. This one certainly had a number of hidden calories within it’s bad-carb dressing and noodles. Still, it was a better choice than the prime rib and mashed potatoes that were calling me… Thai Chicken Salad (it had a cool name, which I forgot, Kai Thai something or other…)

Usually I don’t have a side dish when I have a salad, but they had these in fresh, and I love these, so I got this side and enjoyed every bite… Kumato Tomato

The lighting on these photos isn’t the best I know. Kumato tomatoes are a dark red/purplish in color so the color you see there is close to what it really looked like.

All in all, I was over on calories from my budget for the day. Oh, I didn’t post my numbers last night, sorry. When we finally got home I stayed unplugged. But, as I made good choices from sun up to sun down, and avoided the tragedy that could have been dining out, I still lost weight yesterday!

Happy Friday The 13th!

Comments
  1. Perfection is overrated…just doing better at each and every thing that you did before is really the game winner…way to play and win!

  2. Karen Ogle says:

    Yikes! I didn’t know this was the 13th. Now I will be looking for something bad to happen all day. It should have been yesterday for me. I had the day from hell electronically but finally ended on a good note about 10 pm.

  3. Amanda says:

    Better choices is what it’s all about. Sounds like a great way to avoid rush hour snow traffic.

  4. Playing to Win, yes sir that is the way we need to play this game of life.

  5. So you should be able to expect good luck all day, 13 is a marvelous number!

  6. It turned out to be a great impromptu date with my wife as well, so all smiles for yesterday evening!

  7. ewa says:

    That is one heck of a salad! Wow!
    Eating out is a challenge. I have a love/hate relationship with restaurants. I try to eat out on very special occasions only. A nasty commute would qualify as one. 🙂

  8. It was an impressive salad, almost too pretty to eat

  9. Yes for weight loss BUT I must be honest & say that choosing fried is never the way to go for weight loss UNLESS you CHOOSE to make that exception. If you were trying for better choices, just being honest with the cold hard facts here & not meant to deter you, fried – not the way to go. Also, as you wrote, salads are full of hidden calories so it might be better to order meat or chicken or something like that & ask for it to be cooked the way you prefer – if they will do that…. and dry veggies or potato on the side & add to those what you want so you can control what you put on them.

    Don’t mean to be a Debbie Downer but just wanted to add my bit*hy self to the conversation. 😉 Especially if a person eats out often, ya got to learn to special order – ME, I am a Sally in When Harry met Sally – OH NO! My poor hubby! 🙂

  10. Appreciate the honest feedback and the open suggestions, definitely better restaurant meals are ahead for me, thank you

  11. Chris H says:

    Well done Dude! You meal looked really yummy.

  12. Michele says:

    Great loss. That was some salad. And Yes, I would LOVE some of your snow!

  13. Julie says:

    Wow…what a salad!

    I REALLY struggle with eating out. The past couple of times have been for lunch only and with a friend who is also trying to choose wisely so we’ve been able to support each other.

    Keep on keeping on!

  14. Yummy was all over that meal

  15. My snow is your snow, I like to share

  16. A healthy eating buddy sure does make eating out allot easier

Leave a Reply

