Beware: Obese Snowmen

Posted: January 12, 2012 in Mission
Tags:
2012 – January 12
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 294.1
Difference -8.3
Pounds to Goal 95.1

Took three days to get rid of the weight I regained last weekend. Important to remember just before embarking on poor eating that you are about to undue several days of good work and it’ll take several days to undue the poor eating. Poor eating, bingeing, there is no math that supports why we would ever decide to do it. Of course math is not part of our thought process, it is all emotions that take us to lift up the binge food and slam it in our faces.

Hope all are enjoying their weather. As we are finally about to get some snow, that is all anyone is talking about here. Snow is of no use to me, so I have been just fine with our spring-like winter. Anywhere between 3 and 8 inches is headed our way.

Hopefully everyone here remembers we are sturdy Midwesterners who know how to handle a little snow, that driving in it really is not that hard, and we don’t panic and blame all of woes in life on mother nature. Seriously, you listen to the media and government talking heads and you’d think we are about to be invaded by obese snowmen (from Canada no doubt) and life as we know it were about to end.

So how is the weather there? Is your hungr rising??

Will you survive the threat of weather and bingeing this day???

Comments
  1. I will survive OH I will survive!!! Crap, I may be singing that song today! 😉

    Glad you got rid of that weight & now onward!!!

    Yes, here in southern CA, it is a major alert when it rains! Accidents all over the roads!

  2. I find that same thing – it takes MUCH longer to take off what I put on very, very fast. Sigh. I tagged you on my blog today:) And, we got our first snow last night. Not much.

  3. Karla says:

    Patrick on the top of my blog is a recipe tab, the pumpkin bars my daughter likes, eeee so so, but the carrot cake and the lime bars… OMG amazing 😉

  4. Julie says:

    We are getting snow here also, and quite frankly, I’m shocked that in NEW HAMPSHIRE of all places, they cancelled school over a couple of inches on the ground that’s supposed to turn to rain. It’s not that big a deal!

    It will be a challenge for me today with the two kiddos at home..I won’t lie. I am determined though that I will NOT come derailed!

  5. Killer storms are coming! Well maybe not

  6. Sweet, I will swing by your blog today! Snow, not so sweet

  7. I like amazing and I will be checking out those recipes, thanks

  8. Stay in the rails! No matter the weather or pleas from kids, only good eats for u

  9. Tish says:

    I hear you on the miserable process of re-losing what you gained in a few minutes mindless over-eating. The pits. Hope your snow is a fun one. I see there is a chance of more snow here (northern Va) on Sunday. I like it when it’s falling. Not so much a few days later.

  10. Karen Ogle says:

    Wet, cold and rainy here, Patrick. Haven’t heard so mentioned but we usually don’t get a lot. I am having to undo some weight damage here too. It is frustrating to see the scale staying the same. I am going to get some walking in tonight and hopefully that will get me going in the right direction again.

  11. When we were doing search and rescue training, the mantra was “Slow is fast”…meaning that the rescuers were actually to take their time in thinking things through before acting and potentially causing more harm. To your point that thought is often not part of our decision process to choose a binge or a food splurge when the recovery effort is often so high.

    So…when I’m knowingly faced with one of those choices…I go into Search and Rescue mode and think about it.

  12. Yep, snow does look nice, but it is not so nice to have laying around; obviously if I were 40 years younger I would disagree with myself

  13. Walking will definitely feel good and get you looking for progress, sure does do wonders for helping my attitude towards my mission

  14. Search n rescue analogy, definitely a good visual to leverage when at the cliffs edge

  15. suzanne says:

    I think the snow is just going to miss us all we have is a lot of rain 😦
    I personally cannot take any responsibility for the obese snowmen coming your way!

  16. Rain is good, I would be fine with rain, skinny rain

  17. Amanda says:

    Why are they obese snowmen, huh?? You don’t think skinny snowmen are just as mean…if not meaner…because they sit in judgement of all the fat snowmen!!!

  18. It seems what is true of humans is true of snow people. Or are they snow creatures?

  19. ann says:

    The weather here is cold but sunny for now. I am very frustrated trying to lose the weight I’ve gained over the last 2months. So hard to get back in control of my eating sometimes. Ugh.

  20. Do not try to lose it all at once, sometimes I have struggled with wanting to undo a bad few months overnight. Micro goals, set one goal for the next few hours, for example prepare a healthy balanced dinner, and do that; succeed and then move onto the next. String a few of those micro successes together and you are on your way.

  21. Ewa says:

    Weather? Bring it on. I can take blizzards, storms, wind, you name it. OK not so much heat waves.
    Bingeing… took me a while to figure out what triggered those. Once I knew, I was able to… leave the house instead of running to the fridge.

  22. Leaving the house when binging is upon us, a good idea

Leave a Reply

