Tue Two Too

Posted: January 10, 2012 in Mission
Tags:
2012 – January 10
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 295.6
Difference -6.8
Pounds to Goal 96.6

Tuesday is a great day to share two thoughts to ponder, and, a wise ass remark too.

Thought One, mind over body… The mind is 100% in control of what we do, right? The body screams at the mind at times with hunger pains or images of red velvet cup cakes (omg give me one now). Too often, the mind gives in to the body; why do we lay down control do easy? Why is saying, “No, not needed”, why is listening to that so hard?

Thought Two, motivators… We use motivators to help the mind make the right decision. Quotes, pictures, movies, etc are there for us to recall at moments of temptation. Do they really help? When we see/hear them we get an instant surge of “OhYeah”, but it fades so fast. Are we not using them long enough, frequently enough to draw the strength from them needed to make the right decision? Or are they over rated?

And the remark, smoking while leaving the YMCA… If you workout and then light up a cigarette on the way out of the gym; just donate your gum membership to someone who can’t afford one. At least be smart enough to help someone else out if you insist on not helping yourself.

Comments
  1. anne h. says:

    Love you guy!
    I think you hit this one Spot On!
    Twofer Tuesdays here.

  2. YES, it is a mental game for sure & ya have to conquer it & it can be done!!

    Motivators really help me BUT you have to keep that up & find what works for you. Maybe you post them on the fridge or your bathroom mirror or your work wall or carry a quote or something with you at all times or use the cell to keep motivators – whatever it is BUT it always comes back to that mental game!

    Keep it up Patrick!

  3. Amanda says:

    To me, motivators are overrated. I’ve tried them all…put pictures on your fridge, write goals on post its and leave them everwhere, set mini goals and reward yourself periodicially, etc. The truth is, for most of us, the time it takes to get to the goal is just too long for any of these to be THAT effective. They all help and maybe changing them up from time to time and utilizing ALL of them would be even more helpful but honestly, once you truly commit to getting healthy, that’s when the changes are really made. No amount of motivational quotes, sayings, posters or pep talks can replace that motivation of REALLY knowing what you want and going after it. And honeslty, even once we hit our goals, it will mean a lifetime of maintenance. We can’t let up at that point because we know we can fall into those old habits so easily. Just my 2 cents.

  4. Karen Ogle says:

    You should have been here last night at 3 AM to tell me to PUT DOWN THE BISCUITS. I was up late reading and my son caught me at a vulnerable moment when he made some biscuits. I feel horrid today. Empty carbs.

  5. My sense is we need to go to motivators when we need them most versus just casually taking them in during the day

  6. first, I think we have to focus on habits. Motivators are crutches on the way.
    second, there were seriously people SMOKING at the starting line of my first marathon.

  7. A beautiful 2 cents it is too, thanks!

  8. 3am munches are tough, I’ll try and stop by at 3 am someday to check up on you

  9. Carla says:

    Those things can be decent motivators in the short term, but for the long haul the desire to take care of our health has to come from the inside. I have spent too much time in the past satisfying my immediate desires (for junk) without a care for the long term consequences.

  10. Care, good word choice; we have to care enough to make the right decisions

  11. Agreed…and regarding smoking, I feel the same about health care workers, especially nurses and doctors who can be seen en masse hanging around the doors we have to walk in! Shameful.

  12. Gross is another word that comes to mind

  13. Tammy says:

    First, I want your lunch. It’s been awhile since I’ve had salmon.

    Great post Patrick. This exactly why I have returned to blogland…to be part of a community sharing the same goals for health and fitness. I think your first thought is my whole problem. Mind control…I am weak. This is the area I need to work most on. Slowing down the thought process and listening to the mind rather than just the eyes and nose.

  14. Yes, listening to ourselves is very important and something we all need to embrace

Leave a Reply

