Focus on the MICRO

Posted: January 8, 2012 in Mission
Tags: ,
2012 – January 8
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 295.0
Difference -7.4
Pounds to Goal 96.0

A small gain yesterday. Probably due to eating away from home for lunch and dinner. While I did try and estimate what I had eaten and logged it, I can only assume I mis-estimated or got tripped up by hidden calories. Unfortunate sure. However I shall not waver in my attitude and desire to move ahead to my next micro goal.

Looking back on my week of blogging the theme of my reading was goals.

Goals are great, but our approach to goals can be dangerous. For me, I have realized that if I focus on the long term goal as I go through my day, it is often like putting a land mine in my path. Set and be aware of your long term goals, yes. Focus on them daily, no!

My long term goal is to weigh 199 pounds or less. I have over 90 pounds to go to achieve it. Focusing on weighing 199 will NOT help me get there today or tomorrow or at all. It will be a long time before I weigh 199 and that fact is something I have to accept as much as I have to desire to reach it.

To achieve the long term, one must focus on the immediate. Focus in fact should not be on the typical short term goals like losing 10 pounds in January or losing 2 pounds this week.

Set & focus on the immediate MICRO goals!

My immediate micro goal is to eat a healthy breakfast of no more than 400 calories and of balance nutrients. That is all I am focusing on now. What I am doing afterwards, not what I might eat this afternoon. I will set my next micro goal after breakfast, e.g. drink 20 ounces of water before I have a snack.

The only relavant risk to my continued progress on my mission is what I do now. Right now, I control only what I am doing now. Each day may consist of 5-10 mico goals. This evenings meal wont be eaten for 10 hours, no reason to focus on it. Control and accountability for that meal will take place then, not now.

Yes, plan out your day, your week, your mission. But once it is planned, focus on NOW.

Focus on the MICRO, not the macro.

Comments
  1. Karen Ogle says:

    You are so right, Patrick. Focusing on putting one foot in front of the other, taking one meal at a time is what got me to my original goal weight. Focusing on the long-term just seemed overwhelming and unreachable. It never failed to discourage me. Keep doing what you are doing, Patrick and don’t let the small gains get you down. It is possible that you just had a little too much sodium yesterday and are retaining some water. Water weight can fluctuate up to 5 pounds either way. Hang in there.

  2. Hanging in there, holding tight and riding onward

  3. I think you have a great idea here, Patrick! And, I love, love, love that you are being very specific with the goal.

  4. I’ve tried to be half-focused in this mission, it’s a great way to gain weight

  5. I agree Patrick & you know I wrote about that when people think to much about how far it is instead of how much they have accomplished already! 🙂

    As for food out, can be very deceiving! Always ask how they cook it or ALL the ingredients OR if they have nutritional stats… sodium can be very high… many restaurants cook their meat whether it be fish, beef or chicken with butter on it… lots of hidden stuff out there. If you can, check the web for stats….

    Keep up the positive! 🙂

  6. ewa says:

    Eating out means more salt. It is quite possible your gain was water.
    One thing I am noticing though after I eat out that for days my food cravings increase dramatically. What do they put in that food???

  7. Thinking positive as I look to the next steps towards a new week

  8. Yes indeed I have noticed cravings jump with the lessor the food quality I indulge in

  9. Amanda says:

    Great reminder!

  10. A reminder worthy of tattooing on ones forearm, no?

  11. MaryFran says:

    I’m just gonnna add one small tidbit. Reward yourself when you reach micro goals. 🙂 (and the big ones two). Years ago I read someone that bought a charm bracelet and for each goal she reached she bought a charm. She did it for every 10 pounds. So once 10 pound increment took her a TON of time to do…she bought a turtle charm for that achievment. She lost over vacation…so that was a goal, she bought a charm to signify the vacation. I loved the idea. I’ve always chosen other things……but I reward myself….and NOT WITH FOOD!

  12. Rewards are definitely an important part of a successful plan; I need to rework my own rewards for my mission rebooting

Leave a Reply

