Whey or Not to Whey

Posted: January 6, 2012 in Mission
Tags:
2012 – January 6
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 295.0
Difference -7.4
Pounds to Goal 96.0

Another day another loss, can’t ask for anything more, so I won’t.

 

However I will ask for opinions on products such as this on you see here.

My diet approach is to restrict bad carbs as much as possible thus taking in good carbs (fruit & veg) in moderation while balancing out fat and protein. It is a challenge at times to get in decent amounts of protein unless I want to eat a hen house or pig pen full of deliciousness. Many of the protein food supps out there also have allot of sugars in them which defeats their purpose as I see it.

The product here, I saw in a store this week. As usual, the packaging is is appealing. But I am skeptical.

I need those of you who are better in tune with supplements to chime in as to whether this product (and others like it) has any useful role whether for daily use or use in combination with workout.

Here are the label facts on this product…

New Whey Liquid Protein is:
-42 grams of Complete Protein
-Fat Free
-Sugar Free
-Lactose Free
-Gluten Free
-Caffeine Free

Supplement Facts
Serving Size: 1 (3.8Fl oz) vial
Servings per container: 12
Calories – 180
Total Fat – 0g
Cholesterol – 0g
Sodium – 100mg 4%
Potassium – 50mg 1%
Total Carbohydrates – 2g  
Dietary Fiber – 0g
Sugars – 0g
Protein – 42g

Ingredients: 67.4% Pure deionized water, 31.5% Actinase* [patent pending blend of enzymatically hydrolyzed (predigested) collagenic protein isolate, less (ascorbic acid (c), niacin (B3), partothenic acid (B5), pyridoxine (B6), riboflavin (B2), thiamin (B1), folic acid, biotin and cobalamin (B12)], natural flavors, acesulfame-potassium, sucralose, blue 1 and red 40.

Suggested Use: To encourage positive nitrogen balance, supplement New Whey 42 with meals to achieve one gram of protein per pound of body weight.

Comments
  1. Karen Ogle says:

    Patrick,
    During our nutrition classes for weight loss surgery we were taught that all protein supplements are NOT created equally. We were told to only use whey protein sources where the first ingredient list is whey protein isolate. Anything else is not sufficient. I don’t know if this is true for every one or just for weight loss surgery patients but whey protein isolate is what my nutritionist recommended. It can be expensive but the expense is worth what you are getting. I recommend Syntrax Nectar whey proteins which can be found at The Vitamin Shoppe or at various sources online. I hope this helps.

  2. It definitely helps, thanks

  3. MaryFran says:

    First of all…yay on the loss!

    As for the supplements….personally I think if it’s possible, get what you need through healthy nutritious food!

  4. I do agree with that, nutrition via real good needs to be the priority

  5. Deb says:

    Generally speaking, I try to avoid processed foods – including supplements. I don’t think it hurts to use them occasionally, but I’d limit it.

  6. Agreed, convenience is not necessarily better

  7. I will see what I can find on this product Patrick but whey isolate is great stuff – some better than others but it assimilates quicker into the bod. Protein whey/casein type powders release slower in tot he bod so good for like when you eat later in the day & then workout in the morn. Isolate good for right after a workout with some healthy carbs to get in the bod quick & replenish (like a smoothie). I think one of those links on my post today goes to a protein post for you….

    I had trouble finding good bats & stuff too.. I started to make my own but recently saw these:
    http://www.questproteinbar.com/. On their site they wrote this too:

    Generally recognized as the best protein source available, whey isolate has an incredible amino acid profile that delivers highly usable protein to your body that has been shown to increase muscle mass, aid in the loss of body fat, enhance immune function and much more. It’s one of the most expensive proteins available, many times the cost of soy protein.

    Another extremely high quality protein that is slow-digesting and expensive. Many bars use gelatin (which is very cheap) to pump up their protein count even though it’s not considered a complete protein, which milk protein isolate is.

    Review of those bars….

    http://lowcarbdiets.about.com/od/products/gr/Product-Review-Quest-Protein-Bars.htm

  8. Wow, thanks for all the information. A reading i will go…

  9. Carrie says:

    I see that you are using Lose It to track your food. I know it’s hard to change to something new, but I found using My Fitness Pal to be so much more informative (I used Lose It for a long time). It gives you a chart on each macronutrient for each day. You might be surprised at what you are already getting without supplementing. Personally, I go for unprocessed foods as well (as much as possible), but have been known to add whey protein to pancakes and baked goods.

    Protein doesn’t always have to be animal based. There are plant based proteins (that also have very low fat) that will get you where you need to be.

    Check out My Fitness Pal – I wrote several blog posts singing their praises – here is one: http://familyfitnessfood.com/total-nutrition/

    Good luck… there’s so much information out there, it’s so easy to get misled and overwhelmed.

  10. Thanks for the information I will certainly check out my fitness pal

  11. Sorry about all the typos in that comment! 😉

  12. Typos are always welcome!

Leave a Reply

