Leaping Rubber Chicken

Posted: January 4, 2012 in Mission
Tags: ,
2012 – January 4
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 297.2
Difference 5.2
Pounds to Goal 98.2

Three days of 2012 gone, and so are a handful of pounds. All smiles here thus far.

We have 4 cats in our house. None of them are terribly brilliant. This guy, Zinger, has been pondering making this rubber chicken his own. In fact it belongs to my wife, a Christmas gift from me to her; yes it is true I am a big spender. Zinger is unsure if he can make the jump to the table to get it, thus he is unsure if he really wants it.

I spent many days in 2011 behaving just like Zinger, unsure of what I wanted, and why, so I just lay there where it was comfortable rather than taking a leap for something better (like a rubber chicken). 

That was last year. This year I have taken off after what I want (not a rubber chicken) as what I want is to not be Zinger.

Are you acting like Zinger?

Comments
  1. Karen Ogle says:

    I’m a little liken Zinger. I’m all over the food thing but can’t seem to get the exercise thing in gear. I need to be more clear in my mind of my goals. I need to take that leap into MOVING MY ASS.

  2. Amanda says:

    LMAO! Loving the analogy! I would say the last quarter of 2011, I was very Zinger-like. But no more! I even joined myfitnesspal today to start tracking my food again. With a name like Zinger though, I’d expect him to get the rubber chicken eventually…the temptation will be too great. Do I want to ask why you bought your wife a rubber chicken?

  3. Doesn’t have to be a big leap, in fact when stuck a tiny leap is all that is needed. Don’t try and train for a marathon today, just take a 20 minute walk, etc.

  4. Oh there is no “WHY” in the gifts I buy usually… I saw the rubber chicken, and I decided that she had to have it. She was thrilled that I put thought into her this Christmas.

  5. I know there will be no more Zinger for you Patrick! You took the leap again & this it the one – SAY IT – you will do this & yes, focus on how much you accomplish each day in each minute! Not about what is left to go. You are better off now then you were yesterday! 😉

  6. Julie says:

    I think impractical gifts like a rubber chicken are WAY cool! LOL Gotta be fun and nutty 🙂

    Way to go on the loss, Patrick!! That is GREAT!

    I have acted like a Zinger for SO long on so many levels. But, I’ve been leaping all over the place though the last couple of months, and yet still paralyzed on a couple of things but each leap I take seems to be giving me courage to take yet another. 🙂

  7. I am feeling this 🙂

  8. Keep up the courage and stare down your Zingers

  9. anne h. says:

    Rubber chickens… and cats… wow!
    Look at us go!

  10. Gotta use all the tools around us to win

  11. Carla says:

    No I do not want to be like Zinger! I also felt like the last part of 2011 was spent waiting for someone or something else to make my decisions for me in terms of health. Not anymore!!!

  12. Owning ourselves, good advice!

  13. Tammy says:

    Congratulations Patrick, you are off to a great start. Me, not so much, but I’ll get there. Just trying to find my sea legs…or something like that.

  14. Find those legs, they will do wonders for you

Leave a Reply

