Restaurant Hurdle

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Miscellaneous
Tags:

Restaurant feeding is always a challenge. G’Ma & G’Pa took us out to lunch. This steak salad was my choice, I didn’t eat the fried onions that came with it but you can be sure the kids ate them. Add a slice of bruschetta and cup of minestrone and I dined on 650 calories; about 1000 less than my normal restaurant lunch. I figure I have about 800 calories available for the rest of the day.

What did you have for lunch today?

Comments
  1. Karen Ogle says:

    The salad looks GOOD, Patrick. You are making me hungry.

  2. Sorry, no leftovers. G/Ma did bring us a key lime pie, you can have a slice of that; I won’t even look at it.

  3. The Low Fat Chick says:

    I had a baked potato topped with a spicy chili and light cream cheese mixture. I over slept on my last day off and combined breakfast and lunch, otherwise this would have been too many calories. I feel you on the restaurant hurdle. Lately I have been a little hesitant when eating out, as I started ordering small plates of appetizers because the entrees have just gotten too big.

  4. I had a freshly made juice of kale, beet, carrot, apple, and cranberry. I was at Panera in the morning and you can do some serious caloric damage there despite the wholesome appearing menu. I survived, though and had my steel cut oatmeal.

  5. suzanne says:

    I had some raw veggies, a home made gingerbread clif bar, blueberries and greek yogurt! Oh I would not have turned down that steak though 🙂

  6. Chris H says:

    I had mushrooms with feta cheese and basil pesto, with a lettuce salad. Yum yum!

  7. Good idea on small plates of appetizers, will have to give that a try; thanks

  8. Panera is not a fave of mine by any means. My wife loves it though so I get there a time or two a month.

  9. Wow, home made gingerbread clif bar; share a recipe if you can please

  10. Not a shroom fan at all, but I make up for it with my love for feta

  11. Lori says:

    Restaurants are a huge hurdle to overcome. Good for you. Personally, I have to stay out of them for the first few weeks.

  12. I rarely ever go out to eat. It’s crazy how quickly the calories add up, huh? I had homemade chicken salad for lunch…yum

    Love the new site!

  13. Karla says:

    The only meal I like to eat out is breakfast, egg white omelets are a no brainer )

  14. Staying out of them is best.My wife & I agreed to nearly shut down our eating out habit. 1-2x a month going forward with friends or family is the target.

  15. Homemade Chicken Salad huh, I need to try a recipe for that as I love me a good Chicken Salad. problem is I tend to eat the Chicken before it is time to turn it into salad 🙂

  16. No brainer foods are what we need to keep a short list of to fall back on for when we eat out

  17. Dawn says:

    I had my homemade chicken veggiie bean soup. I try to always keep a supply of stuff frozen.

  18. A supply of frozen soup; genius!

  19. I struggle when I eat out:( Actually, any social eating KILLS me. Sigh. Yesterday I ate very healthy for lunch: salmon burger with non-fat tartar sauce and a side of asparagus. Followed by an apple. Not sure what I’ll have today.

  20. Almost lunch time here and a salmon burger sounds real good, but won’t happen at our cafeteria. It would hit the spot though

Leave a Reply

