Crutches For Me

Posted: January 2, 2012 in Mission
Tags: ,
2012 – January 2
Weight Jan. 1 302.4
Weight Today 301.1
Difference -1.3
Pounds to Goal 102.1

Yesterday I tracked my food and exercise and at days end posted my daily report. No sooner had I done that I found myself hungry and craving snack foods, you know all of those goodies that have been everywhere all throughout the holidays. But, seeing how I had already posted the report, there was noway I was going to toss anything else down. A crutch is born! Another learning from yesterday came from the number of posts I made. On my previous blog I used to post once a day in the mornings. Thus my attention on my mission was greatest in the morning when I blogged.  Yesterday I posted a handful of brief posts with what was foremost on my mind and represented what I was engaged in. Another crutch perhaps?

How about you; What crutches (tips/tricks) do yourely on to get you through the day healthy?

There is my Breakfast:

Greek yogurt&  strawberri­es dusted w/ protein powder & crushed almonds

Comments
  1. ewa says:

    My biggest crutch is not to keep things in the house that will induce any cravings. For me that would be carbs. I got a lot better at controlling my cravings but that took years. Now, even though some members of the family keep buying things that are cravings triggers, I manage to stay away.
    Still, often cravings come and this is when good stuff in the fridge saves me. Veggies saved me from many close calls.
    BTW, yogurt with strawberries and almonds -yum (I don’t like protein powders but that’s just me)

  2. Karen Ogle says:

    I rely on my husband a lot to remind to put down bad choices. I also have the accountability factor to the challenge I am in. I have a week under my belt now of being back on plan and I know that ONE BITE could get me right back where I was. I use the fear of regaining all my lost weight to help keep me in check now. I use my blog to ask for support when I’m thinking about cheating. I also use my blog to help me be accountable for my choices and to write out my feelings so that I can deal with them in ways that don’t involve stuffing my face. I also try to control my food environment and keep myself at of temptation’w way when I am at my most vulnerable. I guess I just do whatever it takes to stay on the plan, Patrick and crutches are okay by me. 🙂

  3. I need to do what you suggest here; get the things that I crave that are junk out of the house. Still too much of that here leftover from the holidays. Thanks!

  4. Yes, crutches are good and fine if that is what it takes to succeed. Some can just do it and get it done on pure discipline, and some need crutches to succeed. My only concern is when the day comes that I am in maintenance mode, do the crutches need to stay, change,go, etc? I’ll find out in 102.1 more pounds.

  5. suzanne says:

    Honestly the best way I know to make good choices is to keep any foods that may be triggers out of the house! Oh and drink water, water, water……

  6. Water water water, yes yes yes… I didnt drink enough yesterday; today I dedicate my water drinking to you!

  7. OMG – I have soooo many. I realized a while ago that when I am on track, it is often because of crutches. Not that I have really changed. Does that make sense? I want to get to the point where I eat well and live healthy because, well, just because, but not because I have figured out the crutches to keep myself from falling over! Is that possible?

  8. Makes sense and yes, very possible.

  9. Food logging was essential for me for most of my weight loss…and a Bodybugg (or other fitness monitors) also became a strong player. I’m doing neither right now, so I’d have to say my new obsession is trying out veganism on for size and playing with my new tadpole trike. I need something to focus on…whatever it might be.

  10. I’ve yet to try any of the various electronic aids for tracking this or that. We I use LoseIt.com, but no monitors, etc… something I may consider when the weather warms and I get out of the gym and out on the road. But I hear you, something that helps keep your focus whatever it is, use it.

  11. anne h. says:

    Crutches are not all bad… they help some people to walk… when other wize they could not!
    I’ve got plenty… they are really tools in disguise!

  12. Big Clyde says:

    I log into Sparkpeople.com and have built up a pretty long list of “favorites” for the foods I eat most often. It takes me about 2-3 minutes to log in each meal and I am always trying to keep in mind “what’s my number” before I put some more food into my mouth.

    Oh, and yes, lots of water to help curb the appetite.

  13. I have not checked out Sparkpeople.com but shall give it a look

  14. We have 4 pairs in the basement, kids are clumsy… and when they were younger they used them as machine guns when playing war in the yard.

  15. I really like “MyPlate” at livestrong.com. I’ve tried several, and this is very user friendly, non cumbersome, and well, “there’s an app for that” also! EVERYTHING you can imagine is in that database. Plus, if I have things I eat frequently, I can build my meal and store it as a favorite.

    Today I ordered a Bodymedia device (bodybugg) Not because I think I need it to help me lose weight, but because I like gadgets, was in the mood to spend money, and do think it could be a good tool for information. We’ll see! 🙂

  16. Gadgets are certainly cool, every once in a while we just have to have a new one or the world will stop spinning on its axis.

  17. I did not get notified of this post. 😦 Maybe tomorrow late like a lot of them – sorry! If I am late to the game, that is why – many posts come a day late to email….

    YOU CAN DO THIS!

  18. Early or late glad to have you with me 🙂

  19. Amanda says:

    Out of site, out of mind as far as I’m concerned. My easiest crutch is to just not have the bad stuff around. That’s been particularly difficult this holiday season.

  20. There was no such thing as out of site for me this holiday season, Food was everywhere. In fact I recall waking up to food in bed, not sure how that happened.

  21. ann says:

    Water, water, water………Glad you’re back.

  22. Glad to be back and see you here 🙂

Leave a Reply

